Enei Begaye is Táchii’nii clan & born for Tódích’ií’nii
clan. She is of the Diné (Navajo) & Tohono O’odham
Nations. Enei grew up on the Navajo reservation.
She is from the community of Shonto, AZ and went
to high school at Monument Valley High School in
Kayenta, AZ.

Enei is currently the Executive Director of the Black
Mesa Water Coalition, a grass roots organizations
made up of young Navajo and Hopi people to organ-
ized to protect the N-Aquifer from the Peabody Coal
Mine slurry lines that pumped millions of gallons
from Black Mesa to the Mojave generating station in Laughlin, NV. In
2005 through efforts of BMWC and other environmental and sacred
site protection organizations, they successfully shut down the
Peabody Coal Mine.

Enei is a recognized advocate of Indigenous
Peoples rights, youth, and the environment.
She is an active speaker, strategist, writer,
and organizer. Her experience includes work
within the United Nations as well as national
and local governments, representing Indig-
enous and environmental interests.

Enei is a co-founder of the Native Movement Collective, a non-profit
organization working to build community and healthy relationships
between all people. She has worked as the water campaigner for the
Indigenous Environmental Network (IEN), where she worked with
Indigenous communities throughout the U.S. to protect their water

Among other recognitions, Enei has recently
been presented with Arizona’s Native American
“Woman of Our Community” award as well as the
Southwest’s “Water Guardian” award. Enei studied
Geological and Environmental Sciences with a
focus in land and water management at Stanford
University. Enei also serves on the board and
steering committee of a number of national networks.

Enei is currently based out of Flagstaff, AZ,
where she lives with her husband and two daughters.

Enei Begaye
(Diné/Tohono O'odham)
BMWC Executive Director

Contact Enei:
A website dedicated to promoting young Native professionals.
Tony Skrelunas

Evon Peter

Enei Begaye

Brenda Gene

Casper Lomayesva

Gabriel Yaiva

Gordon Isaac

Shaleena Bertram

Valencia Herder

Kelvin Long

Temashio Anderson

Derrick Terry

Shawn Michael Perry

Cathy Rexford

Jacoby Ellsbury

Sunshine Gottfriedson

Twa-le Abrahamson

Mike Lowley

Alicia Montano

JR Redwater

Gayla Montano

Bahe Whitethorne Jr.

Keith Martinez

Monte White

Reynalda Terry

"Feature Me"


Tribute pages "coming

If you are interested in
being featured on this
site, email me or call: